Goodwill goes a long way!

IMG_0208 (1)Last Friday, I volunteered at the Holiday luncheon that Goodwill NYNJ hosts every year for program participants and seniors living in the Two Coves community, which surrounds the agency’s headquarters. The event took place in Goodwill NYNJ’s main campus in Astoria at the Queens borough of New York City.

As I walked into Goodwill’s employee’s cafeteria, the music was playing, program participants were dancing, Goodwill employees were serving lunch and everybody was happy to be there. Everyone had left their problems at the door.

While I spent about an hour serving food to the program participants, I had a moment. I finally realized why Goodwill exists and its purpose in the community. I was living in the moment and I was so happy to see that the program participants were having a great time being at Goodwill.

Finally, I thought to myself, this is what a nonprofit is about. It is about helping the community and lending a helping hand when in need. As an intern at Goodwill NYNJ and a graduate student in public relations, I felt like this is something that I would like to continue doing. I want to do something that will benefit others because that is what life is about. Life isn’t about just working from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Goodwill NYNJ showed me what life is about and what success looks like. I loved it. I am happy to have the opportunity to be part of an organization that help others and serves the community.

See the rest of the photos on Facebook

Leave a Reply

