Congratulations to Angela Nery! This Goodwill program participant was named a finalist in the “The Woman Who Inspires Me the Most” essay contest, winning an invitation to United Way of NYC’s Women’s Leadership Council’s 6th annual The Power of Women to Make a Difference luncheon with CNN anchor and Special Correspondent, Soledad O’Brien.

Congratulations to Angela Nery, a participant of Goodwill’s Attendance Improvement Dropout Prevention Program (AIDP) - we are so proud of you!

In her essay “‘A daughter’s admiration of a mother’s inspiration,” the 9th-grader wrote: “She gives me the strength in my heart to follow my desires. She understands how I feel when I feel dismayed. She inspires me to do things I never thought I could accomplish… She is my confidante, my rock, my protector. My guardian angel who can be replaced by no other. She is God’s gift to me, and I call her my dear mother.”

As a finalist, Ms. Nery, who participates in the Goodwill Bronx program also known as “Graduate-Prepare- Succeed” program, received a $150 cash prize and attended the Women’s Leadership Council Luncheon at the Plaza Hotel on Tuesday, April 3. During the event, Ms. Nery and her mother received a special recognition on stage.

Leave a Reply

